The Canadian Association of Journalists
Annual Conference and 2012 Awards

Host Evan Solomon, CBC

Photo of Lois by Bill Blackstone

Event Photos
Photos by Lois Siegel


Official Photographer Canadian Association of Journalists
Awards Gala
  Lois Siegel
 Lois Siegel

Evan Solomon, Glen McGregor, Stephen Maher
Open Newspaper/Wire Service Award
"Dirty Election Tricks Revealed"
Postmeadia News

Evan Solomon, Alison Motluk
"Is Egg Donation Dangerous?"
Maisonneuve Magazine

Evan Solomon, Robert Fife, Philip Ling (accepting)
Open Television (Under Five Minutes)
"XL Foods Investigation"
CTV News

Gil Shochat, Alex Shprintsen, Joseph Loiero (accepting)
Open Television (Over Five Minutes)
"Fatal Deception"
CBC News - Investigative Unit

Evan Solomon, Melissa Brousseau
Regional Television
"Breaking the Mold"
CBC North - Maamuitaau

Evan Solomon, Alison Motluk
Open Radio News or Current Affairs
"Wanted: Egg Donor in Good Health"
CBC Radio - The Sunday Edition

Vadim Leontyev, Digital Media Analyst

Evan Solomon, Steve Buist, Vadim Leontyev
CAJ/Marketwired Data Journalism Award
"Condition Critical"
Hamilton Spectator

Hugo Rodrigues, CAJ President
Code of Silence Award
 Resort Municipality of Whistler (B.C.)

Evan Solomon, Darryl Dyck
Photojournalism Award
Freelance/The Canadian Press

Evan Solomon, Jim Bronskill
Scoop Award
"Canada's Torture Memos"
The Canadian Press

Kim Bolan
Daily Excellence Award
"Brazen Killing May be Gant Retaliation/ Sandip Duhre was shot to death

Evan Solomon, Jon Wells
Print Feature Award
"He Sang With All His Heart"
Hamilton Spectator

Claire Hastings
Director of Fundraising & Community Engagement,
Journalists for Human Rights

Evan Solomon, Diane Grant, Claire Hastings

Nahlah Ayed, Diane Grant
JHR/CAJ Award for Human Rights Reporting
"Seeking Safety"
CBC News - The National

Evan Solomon

Jennifer Ditchburn
Journalist, Canadian Press

Greig de Peuter, Nicole Cohen, Enda Brophy
CWA CANADA/CAJ Award for Labour Reporting
"Interns, Unite! (You Have Nothing to Lose - Literally)

David Hicks
CNW Group

Evan Solomon, Marc Ellison, David Hicks
Marc Ellison
CAJ/CNW Group Student Award of Excellence
"The Girls of War"
Toronto Star/Carleton University

Hugo Rodrigues, Anna Luengo, Administrator, Massey College
President's Award
Massey College
University of Toronto

Tim Bousquet
Community Newspaper
"A Trust Betrayed"
The Coast- Halifax, Nova Scotia

Photo by Kate Howell

Don McGillivray Award
Investigative Journalism
The Coast/Halifax

William Paul
Sound Technician

Ottawa Rocks

Lois Siegel's Home Page