World Press Freedom Day
Annual Luncheon
National Arts Centre

World Press Freedom Day was proclaimed by the UN General Assembly in December 1993, following the recommendation of UNESCO's General Conference. Since then, 3 May, the anniversary of the Declaration of Windhoek is celebrated worldwide
as World Press Freedom Day.

 Mohamed Fahmy

Jailed Egyptian-Canadian journalist Mohamed Fahmy
wins Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom Award

Accepting the Award for Mohamed Fahmy
Pauline Dugré,
Don Newman

©Photos by Lois Siegel

National Press Club of Canada Foundation

Don Newman
Chair, Canada 2020

Guy Badeaux
Le Droit
Vice President, CCWPF

Bruce MacKinnon
Canadian Editorial Cartoonist, Halifax Chronicle Herald

Greg Weston, CBC Investigative Reporter

Hugh Winsor

Brent Rathgerber
MP Alberta

Don Newman

Arnold Amber

Malaysian High Commissioner "Dato" Hayati Ismail 

Louisa Taylor
Glen McGregor

Guy Badeaux
Bruce MacKinnon

Scott Taylor, Esprit de Corps
Julie Harris, Rx&D

James Baxter, iPolitics
Bruce MacKinnon

Al MacKay, Travers Debates
Phil Gibson,
Beaumont Communications Inc.

Stephen Maher
 Mercedes Stephenson, CTV
Hugh Winsor

Glen McGregor
National Affairs Reporter, Ottawa Citizen

John Ralston Saul
Canadian Author, Essayist, and President of PEN International
"Secrecy, Surveillance and Free Expression"

Lunarpages Affiliate Program

Ottawa Rocks

Lois Siegel's Home Page