The Travers Debates
The National Arts Centre

Non-Partisan Party
 Verbal Slugfest
The Ottawa Citizen

James Travers

The R. James Travers Foreign Corresponding Fellowship was established following
the death in 2011
of legendary Canadian journalist Jim Travers,
a former national affairs columnist, newspaper editor and foreign correspondent.

Organized by friends of Jim's along with
 honorary co-chairs

The Honourable John Manley

The Honourable Peter Kent

the Travers Debates features
an all-star cast of Ottawa notables.

Photo of Lois by Bill Blackstone
Photos by Lois Siegel

Honorary Co-Chairmen the Hon. Peter Kent and
The Honourable John Manley 
hosted the evening 

Rosemary Barton, CBC National Reporter
On Parliament Hill
was the Debate Master of Ceremonies

The Honourable Bob Rae
kept the debaters in line as moderator

And  Kevin Page
prevented any overruns in his role
as official timekeeper.

Fraser MacKay assisted

A rousing, fun time was had by all

 First Debate

"Be It Resolved that Nominees to the
Red Chamber be selected by means of a
TV reality Show, with winners chosen by
the public, voting in real time via Twitter." 

Elizabeth May, Green Party Leader

And CTV's Don Martin
Argued in favour of the motion


Transport Minister Lisa Raitt

and Global's Tom Clark


Elizabeth May

Second Debate

"Be It Resolved that
Canada has lost its way in the world"

Postmedia Columnist Andrew Cohen,
 Author and Carleton University Professor
argued in favour of the motion

MacLean's Senior Columnist Paul Wells
argued the contrary view


David McGown
Vice President Government, Regulatory and Public Affairs
CIBC, Toronto

Ben Travers

Mike Blanchfield
R. James Travers Foreign Corresponding Fellowship

Hanging Out

Bob Rae

John Manley, Don Martin, Peter Kent

Tom Clark, Lisa Raitt

Don Martin, Elizabeth May

Peter Kent, Tom Clark

Paul Wells, Elizabeth May, Don Martin

Tom Clark, Lisa Raitt, Don Martin

Tom Clark, Don Martin

Jim Munson, Joan Travers

Glen McGregor

Annie Bergeron-Oliver

Nathan Cullen

 Brian Sperling, Joan Travers, Phil Gibson
, Ben Travers

Paul Wells

John Manley

Elizabeth May, Lisa Raitt

Andrew Cohen

Bob Rae, Andrew Cohen


Elizabeth May

Tom Clark

Don Martin, Elizabeth May


Silent Auction

What a Gift Duffy Was!  Aislin
Terry Mosher
Political cartoonist for Montreal’s
English-language daily newspaper
The Gazette
Donated by Jim Maclean

Manchester United Ball
Donated by John Manley

Donated by Justin Trudeau

Phil Esposito, Hockey Hall of Fame
Donated by Senator Jim Munson


Al MacKay
, Co-Chair of the Organizing Committee

Peter Hum

Charley Gordon

Phil Nolan

Dan Waters

A lesson in the art of political debate: Delacourt
Susan Delacourt
The Toronto Star
Ottawa Bureau

Ottawa Rocks

Lois Siegel's Home Page